Tags

, , , , ,

Minehead harbour

I am attempting to write my first poem of sorts here on Peaceful Rampage. It’s simply a case of issues which have been boiling up inside my mind and now the kettle has boiled over. Hope you like it.

Of Little Comfort

Most racist actions is predominantly orchestrated by whites against non-whites

But that is little comfort to the white person

Who is victimized by people who aren’t white

Especially when there is a person more deserving of that victimization nearby

Most sexism is done by men against women

But that is little comfort to the man

Who is shunned by a woman

Because he doesn’t meet her narrow mind view of what a man should be

Especially when that type of man mistreats and abuses her

When I left the service, I didn’t have it as bad as the Vietnam veterans

But that was little comfort when the government

Didn’t give me what they promised when I signed up

Or the people who gave me crap

For only trying to put it behind me my way.

Yes, some people have it a lot worse than others

And I truly reach out my hand and heart to them

But just because one person doesn’t suffer as badly

As someone else has, doesn’t mean

We should downplay their experiences

Or see it as something less

Because we all have had bad experiences

So it’s best to comfort one another

Instead of categorizing them.

This might help to end the resentment which is in our world.