Tags

, , , ,

My very first experience of what some might call a weird ability came when I was in sixth grade. During the first half of the year, in gym class, my class would almost always beat the other class who did gym with us in sports. However, half way through the year, one of the star players from my class moved and it seemed after that we would lose to the other class most often. One day, after yet another loss, I pointed out the fact that we didn’t start losing to the other class until our star player moved and that if he was still in our class, we would still be winning. Most of those who heard it, poo-pooed it, probably because it was I who said it. But one boy did comment, “He notices things like that.”

This personal phenomenon has been true of me throughout my entire life. I always seem to spot the small unknown details that no one else notices. Many times, this has been a help for me. One example was when I played street hockey back in high school. In two seasons, I scored three goals against who many considered to be the best goalie in the league. Two of those goals came about because I found his one flaw in his goalkeeping. He had a tendency to drop down to his knees too quickly, thus leaving him exposed to high shots. I thought that if I noticed this, why didn’t anyone else?

The answer is that it’s because I do have a tendency to pick out the little things, notice some small detail that very few people can see. Usually this is a good thing but it does have a down side. On account of my mind, I focus so much on that small detail that I can often miss the big picture and that hasn’t always yielded the best results. It did cause problems at school from time to time and frustrated teachers. The problem was that it also got me branded ‘stupid’ by some when I’m clearly not.

Book link alert: In “He Was Weird,” one of Mark’s teachers points this out to his mother at a parent-teacher conference. The teacher points out he will miss the entire point of a lesson but pick out some small detail that even the teacher doesn’t see. I have to agree with the teacher, it can be extraordinary really.

This can be a wonderful quality for people who have Aspergers Syndrome or any type of autism. An ability to see the small intricate details can be beneficial in many fields. The problem is that, like in my case, it was seen as abnormal or irrelevant because I was looking at a piece instead of the whole picture. What these people never realized that sometimes that little piece can tell a big story.

To buy He Was Weird, go to: https://www.amazon.co.uk/He-Was-Weird-Michael-Lefevre/dp/1909740942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477951269&sr=1-1&keywords=he+was+weird

