Tags

, , , , , ,

I am sure I am not the only blogger in the world who sometimes just doesn’t feel like posting. Recently, a fellow blogger, who hasn’t posted in quite awhile recently began posting again and explained why she hadn’t post in so long. Her reasons were very sound. This has me thinking about myself. Over the last few weeks, I have been bogged down with work to the point that when I got home in the evening, I just didn’t feel like writing. However, last week, I managed to pull myself together and get something down here. While, I did feel a sense of accomplishment, I felt a bit drained as well.

When I started writing Peaceful Rampage, I made the promise to myself that I would post once a week. This way, I thought, I wouldn’t become to bogged down in writing but I would still post enough to keep people interested. I worried that if I posted any less, all my followers would vote with their feet. This has my anxieties running a bit high. Because I committed to posting once a week, I believed that somehow I would be breaking a promise to myself and readers. Furthermore, my Asperger’s mind worries that if I miss one post, I will start down a slippery slope of posting less and less until I am not posting at all.

Now, I realize that my thoughts may seem daft to some people but this is how my mind works. It is very real to me. I try to tell myself that I am simply keeping up the discipline of weekly posting but now I realize that I won’t be letting myself or anyone else down if I miss a week. After all, what is more important, missing one week in three years or getting my mind more distressed because I am panicking about making a post. As I have read from so many of you who I follow, my mental health is more important.

Of course, my other anxiety here is the fact that the main reason I started the blog was to push my book, “He Was Weird.” Here, my worry is that by not posting, I am losing a week of advertising and that no one is ever going to buy the book. Again, I know that missing out a week isn’t going to affect sales that much but my mind still gets in a worry over it. Worse, there is nothing in the story I can think of that relates to what I am writing at this moment. So, I’m afraid there’s not going to be any shameless plug. Or is there?

Wow! Now that I posted something, once again I feel a sense of accomplishment. I hope what I have written now rings home with some of you. Whether we suffer from any sort of autism or mental stress or not, we all feel this way sometimes. For me, the best way of overcoming it is to write about it, so that’s what I’ve done.

To buy He Was Weird, go to: https://www.amazon.co.uk/He-Was-Weird-Michael-Lefevre/dp/1909740942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1464723931&sr=1-1&keywords=he+was+weird

