Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Most people like music. It may be different styles, genres or tastes but the bottom line is that nearly everybody likes music. Even those religious nuts who want to ban rock and roll like music, provided Jesus is in the lyrics of the songs. Most music lovers, when they buy a record, CD, etc will immediately play the music they’ve just acquired. If they really like that piece of music, they will play it several more times, even to the point of ‘playing it to death.’ I’m the same, when I buy an album, the first thing I’ll do is pop it into the car stereo and listen to it. I will also make a judgement how much I like it. However, no matter how much I like that new album, I won’t constantly play it again right after the first listen. Instead, it will go in between the CD I listened to before I bought the new one and the one I intend to listen to next.

See, I listen to my CDs in strict rotation according to how they are displayed on the shelf. That new CD won’t be listened to until it comes around again on that rotation. I have been doing this ever since I started buying cassette tapes back in 1980. The funny thing there is that my cassettes were arranged in alphabetical order so I had to completely rely on memory for my tape rotation. You’d might have thing this task would become more daunting as my collection grew. The funny thing was that it didn’t. When I bought a new cassette, it would go into the rotation as normal and I would remember it when its turn came up again. On the odd occasion, I might have forgotten the odd tape in the rotation but once I remembered I had forgotten it, I would play it next and make sure I wouldn’t forget it next time it came up to be played.

I have become the same way with my clothing. My t-shirts and jeans are piled up on shelves and drawers and I wear them in rotation. If the situation warrants, I might alter things a little but the item of clothing that got passed over, would be worn next.

To many, these actions may be considered weird. On the other hand, I bet anyone with Asperger’s Syndrome who is reading this would think that my system is quite logical. It’s logical to me at least. My argument for both is this: If I play music in rotation, I don’t get tired of listening to an album because I played it to death. Obviously, there are some albums that I am more eager to listen to than others and that makes the listening that much better when it comes up in its rotation. As for the clothes, that’s another story. See, because I am not constantly wearing the same items of clothing, they last longer. Letting them have a “rest” goes a long way in preventing wear and tear, so I think there’s advantages to wearing clothes in rotation.

Before some write this off simply as a trait of Asperger’s Syndrome, let me offer further food for thought as to why I am this way with music and clothes. Call it Asperger’s Syndrome or not but I have a fanatical sense of ‘fair play.’ I like to see no one or nothing, being left out. Therefore, everything gets an equal play with me, be music, clothes and if I can arrange it, people. I think this goes back to those three years of bullying hell where I was not only bullied in the traditional sense, but often excluded as well and as I said before, that can be more painful than punches.

In “He Was Weird,” Mark has no obsessions like these but he faces exclusion nonetheless. Those reflections are why I am so committed to fair play for people and possessions.

To buy He Was Weird, go to http://www.amazon.co.uk/He-Was-Weird-Michael-Lefevre/dp/1909740942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458763930&sr=1-1&keywords=he+was+weird

 

 

 

