Tags

, , , , , ,

It did seem very logical to me that after the last post about my perceived weirdness vs others’ intolerance that I expand further on things that seemed logical to me. The problem is that people who have DAMP (Deficiencies in Attention, Motor skills and Perception), what seems logical to that person doesn’t seem logical to the rest of the world. This alone ends up with many who have DAMP to be perceived as weird and as I can tell you, sometimes leads to bullying. But who’s to say what is logical and what isn’t? I mean if you want pure logic, you best talk to this guy.

The only  truly logical person I know.

The only truly logical person I know.

Very recently, I had an occasion which might have seemed logical to me but not anyone else. I was given a supply (substitute) teaching assignment at a chain nursery. There are two I’ve been to quite near each other so when they said the name Carterton, I knew it would be either one. What I didn’t know was that Carterton was the actual town the nursery was in. I thought one was in a town called Brize Norton because there are signs for the town all around the area and many of the parents who use the nursery are stationed at the air force base at Brize Norton. That was why when I got near both nurseries, I telephoned the agency to find out if Carterton was the one in Brize Norton or Witney. The agency, probably confused about what I meant, told me Witney. So I went there and when I presented myself at the nursery, I was told they hadn’t booked anyone. I asked if this was Carterton and was told that it was the other one. Therefore, I had to truck over to the other nursery but was still 20 minutes late. It was also on this journey where I drove past a big sign saying “Carterton” very near my destination. I swear I never saw that sign before. Anyway, my logic was that I thought that the nursery in Carterton was Brize Norton because, logically, I saw so many signs for the town and the fact that so many parents are stationed at the base. It seemed logical to me.

Another big example was nearly 20 years ago. All my family (then wife and three children) were going to spend Christmas with my mother in the US. To spend while we were there, we had over $£700 in cash and the rest were going to be in travellers’ checks. The plan was to buy £1000 in checks. However, my thought was buy half of those checks in dollars and the other half in sterling. The thought was that if we needed more money, we could easily cash them for dollars and if we didn’t, we wouldn’t have to pay any conversion rate. The thought seemed very logical to me. Unfortunately, my wife at the time wasn’t best pleased with my logic and made it quite clear to the point of even calling one of her friends to tell her how stupid I was. For about seven years after, three after we split up, I was beating myself up for committing some atrocious act of stupidity. It took my counselor to point out that what I did seemed logical to me and I shouldn’t have been so self condemning. The irony was that, in spite of our attempts to spend all our money, we came home with $900 in unspent traveller’s checks. So, maybe my logic wasn’t so bad after all. By the way, my ex wife did apologize for her overreaction.

There are many more instances where things I have done seemed logical to me but not to any “normal” person. When I worked in a factory, I had this used against me on occasion. There is a case in “He Was Weird” and it happened to me in real life where I did something logical to me but not to anyone else. A month after Mark moves to Ramsgate, the boys in his class are told to line up in alphabetical order to hand in work to the teacher. Having been the ‘new kid’ on two other occasions, Mark follows familiar protocol and lines up at the end of the line. Unfortunately, the teacher ridicules him on the grounds that L doesn’t come at the end of the alphabet. When Mark tries to explain that because he was new, he went at the end, the teacher heaps further ridicule on him and humiliates him in front of the class. This teacher had no sympathy for the fact that Mark had DAMP and it added to the bullying he was getting.

My conclusion here is that like beauty, logic too, is in the eyes of the beholder or in this case the mind. What is logical to one person may not be logical in the eyes of others. Just because the masses may think what one person is doing is illogical, it doesn’t mean it is. It’s certainly not in the mind of that one person. Once the world realizes that, there would be less ridicule and definitely less bullying.

To buy He Was Weird, go to http://www.amazon.co.uk/He-Was-Weird-Michael-Lefevre/dp/1909740942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1456347597&sr=1-1&keywords=he+was+weird

 

 

