Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

untitled

Since I have started Peaceful Rampage nearly two years ago, I have looked at books that talked about the same points I wrote about in my own book “He Was Weird.” The main points of these have been about bullying and school shootings. I have used four other titles along with mine which are:

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

19 Minutes by Jodi Picoult

Endgame by Nancy Garden

Rupture by Simon Lelic

So far, I have looked at each of the shooters and with three of them offered my view of what my main character, Mark, would have thought about them. A little while later, I took a look at each of the shooters’ mothers to ask if their killing spree was a result of bad parents. Not very long ago, I wrote a series of posts asking if teachers played a role in encouraging bullying once again, using teachers from all five books.

Recently, I have begun to ask myself, “What about the bullies themselves?” In all five novels, the bullies have been rightfully demonized but now I thought it was time to give them a fair chance. I will attempt to examine the main bullies in each story and decide if they are fairly portrayed in the story and give suggestions as to why they display their bullying behaviour. More importantly, since in four of the five novels, the bullies get their comeupance, I will also try to determine if they deserved their fate.

I am looking forward to the challenge I have set myself. Having been in the shoes of the victim, I too, need to understand the bullies. I hope you will all come along for the ride and I hope you will venture opinions on the matter.

Next post: Part 1- 19 Minutes

To buy He Was Weird, go to: http://www.amazon.co.uk/He-Was-Weird-Michael-Lefevre/dp/1909740942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1428958700&sr=1-1&keywords=he+was+weird

