Tags

, , , , , , ,

First of all, I am happy to report that the bullying victim who was convicted of illegally wire tapping his bullies has had the conviction overturned on appeal in a higher court. Thank God that common sense prevailed here. The only thing that poor fifteen year old boy was ever guilty of was being a victim of bullying and trying to do something about it when those who should have dealt with the problem failed to do so. Now, this seems very American of me but I think that the boy’s mother should sue the pants off the school and the police. I know that I often make comments and jokes about America being the land of the law suit (it’s getting bad in the UK too) but this time there is good reason.

I am relieved that I didn’t get any comments from people about my posting about knucklehead behaviour only happening in the UK. It doesn’t, there is plenty of such behaviour in the USA, most of it perpetrated by those 10% of Americans who think with their bibles instead of their brains. A shining example of this started just over a decade and a half ago when a series of books came out that children enjoyed so much, they were willing to put down their video game consoles and take up reading again. However, many people in the religious community objected to these books because it was about magic, wizardry and witchcraft. Preachers spouted that these books would get children into the occult and lead to dangerous practices. That is why that even today, “Harry Potter” remains the most banned book in America.

harrypotter

Having read most of the books and seen all of the films, I see nothing that would make anyone start sacrificing goats to the dark lord. All three of my children have read the books when they would be considered to be of an impressionable age and they show no such tendencies. In fact, their enjoyment of the Harry Potter books only spurred them on to read more things. How can that be of harm? That is why, as a teacher, I think more Harry Potter should be used in schools if it can have that much of an effect on getting children reading.

This takes me back to my final thoughts on religion and the main problem I have with all religions. This need for religions to force their beliefs on others under the guise of looking out for our best interests. I’m sorry, I know what my best interests are and can make my own choices even if you don’t agree with them. It’s been said for many years and I will toot this horn until I’m out of breath but if a book, film or musical piece offends you, then don’t read it, watch it or listen to it. The same goes if you don’t want your kids involved with it but don’t ban something because you don’t like it. Most of us are capable of making an informed choice.

Finally, I was quite amused to see that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints didn’t oppose Harry Potter. Yes, some on the right fringe did but as a whole, the church didn’t. Of course, religious groups could ban both of my books. After all, my first book “Rock and Roll Children,” glorifies heavy metal music and demonises the Jesus freaks who used to come to concerts and tell us we were all going to hell. In “He Was Weird,” the main character, who shoots up the school committing much carnage, was a Born Again Christian. It is his belief that God had let him down that gives him the courage to go through with it. So ban my books, maybe I’ll sell more that way.

Next post: Inter-gender Bullying

To buy He Was Weird, go to: http://www.amazon.co.uk/He-Was-Weird-Michael-Lefevre/dp/1909740942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1398982717&sr=1-1&keywords=he+was+weird

 

 

 

 

