Tags

, , , , ,

untitled

Originally, this post was going to be about fantasy worlds but a thought from my previous post on the effects of bullying on academic attainment dawned on me. So I’m afraid that the fantasy world post will have to wait until next time. In the last post, I mentioned how the terrible bullying I suffered for three years had a direct effect on my schoolwork. Thinking back, it’s a wonder that I even managed average grades, especially in seventh grade although things weren’t looking too good in the beginning of eighth grade. Then a wonderful thing happened, my family moved out of that town!

The positive effects of the move became apparent almost straight away. With no bullying, my grades improved dramatically. On my first history test, the teacher was ecstatic that I had gotten 92%. When I achieved the same score a few weeks later, the teacher told me he was going to tell one of the teachers from the town I had moved from, whom he knew, how well I was doing.

Rumour has it that the teachers at my previous school did learn about how well I was doing at my new school. Apparently, one of those teachers stated that even though I was doing well, that I had learned the wrong lesson. I supposedly learned that I could solve my problems by simply running away from them and this would not help me later in life. That eventually, I would run out of places to move to. One might think here that it was entirely my idea to move out of that horrible town, not that I wasn’t glad to. At the time, I never felt like I had ran away from my problems.

Roll on twelve years later. Three years after leaving the marines, the American Dream of 80s Regan America wasn’t working out for me. You could say I was to blame because after all, I committed such atrocious crimes like growing my hair long. Most people thought that having to wear a crew cut for four years in the service of my country was not good enough reason to let my hair down in the literal sense. As a result, I suffered a lot of intolerance.

I was accepted and began attending the University of London. I quickly found that the British way of life was more suited to me. However, not all my problems stayed on the other side of the Atlantic. The final straw came after six weeks into my college year when the Veteran’s Administration decided that my course of study wasn’t approved and therefore not going to send me any financial support. The second I read the letter from the VA, I openly declared that I hated USA. I had given that country the four best years of my life and the country had done nothing but poop on me in return.

After a two day cooling off period, I decided to talk to the college chaplain and immediately declared my hatred for my country. We discussed it and when I told him that it was naïve of me to think my problems wouldn’t follow me, he stated that I was in the UK to run away from my problems. It has been those words that has linked the two life experiences I have mentioned. Did I run away on either occasion? The thought I was doing so was never a conscious one but it does harass the outer recesses of my mind from time to time. I would greatly appreciate feedback on this one, thanks.

Next post will definitely be Fantasy Worlds

To buy He Was Weird, go to: http://www.amazon.co.uk/He-Was-Weird-Michael-LeFevre/dp/1909740942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1384805876&sr=1-1&keywords=he+was+weird

 

 

